Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people, therefore, say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

The author concludes the statement that dairy products are the paramount elements that cause bone diseases, like osteoporosis. This conclusion is predicated on several assumptions that indicate that the author’s understanding in this regard is persuasive. However, as it is inferred, the author’s argument is based on three erroneous assumptions which may impede the validity of the author’s argument.

First of all, the author assumes that all of the participants in the study are genetically fit and live in the same environmental condition. However, it may not be the actual case. Perhaps a significant number of the participants may have had previously genetically related problems regarding the bone disease, which escalated during the study. And also, there may be a handy amount of people in this study who did not come from the same region or environment, in fact, maybe from a vulnerable situation which increases the rate of bone disease. Hence, if any of the above examples are true, the author’s argument regarding bone disease may be in trouble.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the number of participants in the research program is significant. But it may not be true. There may be a small proportion of people participating in the dairy milk consumption study. In addition, maybe many participants could not complete this program exhaustively, who knows? If this is the case, then the insignificant participant may be the paragon of burnout of the author’s argument.

Finally, the author assumes that the vulnerable participants who are infected by bone disease are only for dairy milk. It might be the most superficial assumption. Maybe the participants consumed a lot of other products rather than dairy products which eventually cause them to be affected. Moreover, maybe many of them are sensitive to these dairy products, which indicates the individual problem rather than in general. And we may not extrapolate any decision based on this fact.

In conclusion, the author’s conclusion of the condemnation of dairy products for causing bone disease may seem persuasive. However, as it is stated, the author’s argument is projected on three unwarranted assumptions, which need to be reevaluated if the author wants his argument to be fluent and lucid.