Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout

the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As per the opponent's argument people who consume a diet rich in dairy products may increase the risk of osteoporosis. This argument is based on a study that has been conducted considering a larger population within a certain time period. The results of the study has depicted that people who had consumed a dairy rich diet within the period of study have eventually experienced bone fractures. To arrive at the opponent's conclusion, based on the results of the study few other facts should be considered as evidence.

Firstly, it should be evident that the considered sample population represents a variety of age groups and further the age (the range within the age falls in) of people who have undergone bone fractures needs to be presented. As osteoporosis is a medical condition that may arise in human body with age, it cannot be concluded that it is the diet which has caused the bone fractures. For an example, all people who have reported bone fractures might be above 60 years of age who can be considered as senior citizens. Thinking pragmatically, elderly people might get osteoporosis with their age, regardless of their diet. Further, the bone fractures of elderly people might not be due to osteoporosis but, may be due to some other accidents they have undergone with age due to their disabilities.

Secondly, evidence should be provided on the environmental conditions and genetical background of the people who have suffered from bone fractures. Since osteoporosis is a disease that rely on the environmental conditions, the opponent should make sure that the sample he considered is not biased to a certain environmental background. For an instance take, farmers who have been exposed to chemicals that are used during farming for a very long time. The impact of the chemicals on their health might have caused adverse medical conditions in their bodies. Similarly the set of people who have got bone fractures might be coming from a similar environment. Further, the opponent should prove that the group of people who have reported bone fractures do not possess similar genetical background. For an example, if they are from the same pedigree and osteoporosis is a medical condition inherited to them genetically then it cannot be proven that their dairy diet has caused this illness.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is flawed by many disproven assumptions. For the opponent to prove the above stated conclusion more evidence needs to be provided. If the aforementioned evidences are provided and proven it will help evaluate the argument more effectively and arrive at a reasonable conclusion.