Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of
education.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or
might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
Quality of learning relies on numerous factors including the teachers' and students' input
in the teaching and learning process. Further, the education system of a country will also affect
the quality of learning to a considerable amount. The prompt states that the competition among students
to achieve higher grades is an imperative causal for the lack of quality in learning. In my opinion, I
mostly agree with this position and argue that the standards of learning are not met when a student
focuses completely on his grades rather than the knowledge he grasps from the learnings, due to two
reasons.
In some cases and instances students who thrive for higher grades, also undergo a thorough learning
process. For an instance consider a student who is targeting the top notch of the class and
who actually cannot have good grades unless he really understand the concepts. Such students will
spend more time to understand the concepts accurately and clear out any arcane concepts by reaching
out to teachers, books and other plethora of references. This improves the quality of learning of the
particular student. If there is no competition for him to achieve higher results, he might have not gone through
the concepts deeply.
However, in very competitive environments where students' future rely solely on the grades,
they will search for techniques that will make then through the exams. The main focus will be on
the grades but, not on the knowledge he gains by learning the subject. Take an instance where the
exam paper is of the same pattern and the student has access to past papers. In such a case, students
will identify the patterns and memorize the answers to gain higher grades. This will hinder the whole
learning system of a student and degrade the value of teachings. In the end students will graduate with
higher grades but, with as naive products of an improper educational system. There will be imperative
effects on the attitude development and behavioral improvements of students due to the same scenario
where the student will not be molded during the class through the experiences he undergo with a firm
knowledge background. Eventually, this will result in an anomolous, errorneous and non-productive
workforce for the country.
Moreover, competition among students has a direct impact on the teachers too. Automatically
a competition will be created among teachers to produce the highest grades.Thus, teachers
will focus on covering only the sections that a relevant for the exams. Attention will not
be given to build a better learning environment and deliver a standard learning experience.
For an instance take a teacher who has a target of producing the best results for the college.
Then she will put her immense effort to take the students to higher grades by completing
whatever knowledge areas required for the exam. She will not consider teaching the complete
ideas the she know won't appear in the exam. Subsequently the whole 'quality of learning' will
be a mere criteria in the college's advertisement banner. Further, having the main focus on
grades will make students eschew asking questions and digging deep into subject matters.
Students will learn in a high-level and nebulous manner that will not long-last in their
careers.
Given the above reasons, to maintain a good quality in learning, students should have freedom
to dive through the body of knowledge. Should have ample time to weigh all aspects of new
information he come across. At any level of education, students should not marginalize the
importance of quality of learning over the grades he should obtain.