1 The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist quot Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire vill

Although Dr. Karp has tried to highlight an interesting fact that the interview-centered

methods result in much more valid conclusions when compered to observation-centered

methods, the facts presented lack evidence that proves his claim. Even though

the study which Dr. Karp has selected to compare against his interview-based approach

focuses on a similar hypothesis, numerous other factors such as the considered

sample of children and the time period where the studies were conducted,

are not evidently the same.

As per the reference, Dr. Field has conducted the study twenty years ago. Thus,

the culture of the island 20 years ago can be definitely different when compared

to the current culture. There is no evidence to decide that there

has not been any change in the culture of the island within the past 20 years of

time. If it is proven that the culture in Tertia is now changed and children actually live with their

biological parents but they were reared by villagers 20 years back, Dr. Karp's

comparison about interview and observation-centered studies become void.

Further, it is not mentioned what observations did Dr. Field made. Whether he observed

only the children or whether he observed the adults also. Whether it is the

behaviors he observed or whether he observed any legal documentations that proved

who actually reared children in the Tertian village. If any evidence stated the

presence of a documented proof that might have strengthened Dr. Field's conclusion

and weakened the claim made by Dr. Karp on interview-centered method.

Even though Dr. Karp mentions that interviews were conducted with children from

Tertia, there is no exact evidence presented on the number of children interviewed,

what questions were asked during the interview and whether the interviews were preplanned

and pre-informed to the children. If evidence was presented on the number of children

interviewed and if it depicted a plausible count when compared to the total

children population of the island it would strengthen the results of Karp's study.

If children were directly asked about their biological parents during the interview,

that will lead the children to talk more about their biological parents even if

they were reared by other adults in the village. Thus, without presenting

the questions Karp cannot build a concrete connection between children talking more

about their biological parents and children not being reared by the entire

village.

If the interviews were planned and pre-informed to the children, children might

have been prepared to talk about their biological parents. Thus, solid evidence

should be present regarding the exact interview procedure followed, to

conclude that interview-centered method will establish more accurate understanding.

To prove that interview-centered method establish more accurate conclusions for the

considered fact, much more evidence needs to be presented by Dr. Karp. More evidence

is required to prove that there is no change in the culture within the past years.

Also more evidence should be available to compare the design of the observation

and interview centered methods.