1. The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument has many loose ends. it does not convey an idea to the fullest. The argument states that, twenty years ago, a particular observation was made by dr. field. In that observation, he noticed that children in tertia were reared by an entire village and not by their own biological parents. dr. karp states that the situation is reverse and that dr. field's conclusion is invalid. First of all, twenty years are a long time. Any kind of significant changes could have occurred during this period. For example, many years back, women were considered as a child-bearing machine, where today many of them can be seen as successful entrepreneurs. So, it is wrong to say that dr. field's observation is incorrect.

Secondly, there is a mention about dr. karp's interview with children in the group of islands including tertia. there is no specific evidence stating that more children were from tertia. The correct percentage could have given a true picture about the research conducted by dr. karp. With the given minute details, we cannot conclude that dr. karp's observations are valid.

Thirdly, dr. karp professes that the interview centered approach method of his team of graduate students will set up a much more correct understanding of child rearing traditions. But the strategies used are not mentioned clearly. Also, interview related questions are not answered in the given argument.

thus, to conclude, we can say that enough evidences are not provided to accept the argument as a whole. twenty years is quite a long time to make a competitive study, as many changes could have evolved. thus the argument can only be accepted in parts.