The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

The given argument, albeit sounds logical, has many hidden flaws. By throwing more light on the issue, it is easy to see that the argument suffers several grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy. In addition, the argument is much weakened by the fact it does not consider the inherent differences between butter and margarine. Before any final decisions could be taken, much work is left for the arguer to make his/ her argument more logical and cogent.

Firstly, the argument states that butter has been replaced by margarine in happy pancake house restaurants throughout the southwestern United states in which only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. The use of statistics is a shaky way of bolstering the logic behind the argument. The true value of the percentage could be predicted only if the number of complaints registered are known. For example, if there are 100 customers to the restaurant whereas only 10 members have filed the complaint will not lead to a correct prediction. How can we be sure that the remaining 90 customers were happy and that they do not have any complaints?

Secondly, it is stated that several customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. The reason could be many. they might not want to forsake the food just for the sake of butter or that they would not want to change restaurants assuming the change was made only on that day. Important decisions, however, cannot be made owing to the report made by the servers. A detailed study should be made indicating whether the same feedback was given by the same set of customers who were provided margarine instead of butter on a frequent basis.

Thirdly, the statement that either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine, or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine is clearly an amusing one. For instance, a regular customer to the restaurant might not know the difference, provided the replacement of butter with margarine had been concealed from them. Moreover, either a less educated person or a n individual not exposed to such foodstuffs alone might not know the difference. But, on the whole, this type of customers will be lesser than the other frequent customers.

thus, we can conclude by saying that, the decision to replace butter with margarine would not yield better profits as the conclusions predicted are not up to the required level of satisfaction. thus, in an attempt to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the happy pancake house is making the biggest mistake of extending this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country. In view of gaining profit, the restaurant is going to lose customers which in turn could lead to the fall of the company.