Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

During olden days in India, there were Gurukula mode of studies wherein kids learnt their lessons of life from sages. They were seated under the shades of trees and there was no specific classroom. Teaching was not considered as a profession but only looked upon as a source of imparting values required to lead a better living. As years passed, it has become a profession which has been treated to be a noble one. Even nowadays, only those with a passion and love for children choose it as a career. teachers never expect profit out of the service rendered. So, I disagree with the argument that teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance because it is not right to estimate based on the marking or grading system.

The reason for it is that, there are many factors governing a child’s growth in terms of his/her studies. he may be good in one topic whereas poor in others. Judging based on the outcome of his study with the salary of a teacher is purely irrelevant. Eventhough it is the duty of the teacher to drive a student into getting a good score, performances are affected owing to various reasons like low IQ level, less memory power, cramming and not understanding the concepts, not concentrating when a lesson is being thought, family problems and the list is endless. For instance, the famous scientist Albert Einstein’s mother received a letter from the institution where he was studying, stating that Einstein need not continue in the school due to lack of intelligence and a better marks as felt by his teachers. Did he not become a well renowed person? And how could this be related to the salary given to a teacher?

further, a teacher could also be distinguished based on their expertise and caliber to communicate effectively. if a teacher is not able to articulate weell, then it becomes a very good reason behind the failure of students. further, a best teacher could bring out the best in every individual and could mould them to be a perfect future that the world dreams of. we may say that an experienced teacher need not be the best teacher, but at the same time, a naïve one could capture the attention of all the students and could produce a better result.

Neverthless, if the management feels that a teacher is not upto the expected level, then their salary could be targeted only to ensure that there is a fair amount of improvement from the teacher’s side. Such stringent measurs need to be taken only if the teacher shows no interest in taching, or whiles away time in the classes or does not care about the progress or future of the kids.

To conclude, we can say that many parameters need to be analysed before deciding upon the salary of a teacher as it is not that high when compared to other professions. also, to give a reduced salary just based on the performance of the student is not advisable.Moreover, a boundary could be set only for those who are not fulfilling the required criteria. Altogether, salary and student's marks should not be interrelated.