Essay topic 28: Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teaching profession is multifaceted and teachers burden complex responsibilities on their shoulders to inspire and conduct the future generations. Some claim that students’ performance in achieving higher credentials must be considered as the standard to evaluate teachers to receive salaries. This claim is flawed as other factors influence on academic success of students.

First, assessing teachers solely by academic performance of students neglects the impact of teachers on students’ academic and social development. Teachers can guide and teach students in not only academic subjects but also social development. Teachers give students constructive feedback on their performance and advice on future path choices as well as moral lessons. They help them learn cooperation, hardworking and perseverance directly and indirectly and develop into fully fledged members of society later. Therefore, it would be unfair to base teachers’ salary on students’ success.

Similarly, the effect of family and environment on students’ performance cannot be overlooked. If a student encounters challenges at home, it may be impossible for the teacher to do much at school. Also some students are not talented enough to learn subjects even if the teacher is highly qualified; thus, holding the teacher responsibilities in such cases would be unfair and unreasonable.

Moreover, academic performance of students is too trivial to determine the payment of teachers. To illustrate this, elementary institutions credit patient, compassion and enthusiastic instructors willing to work with young children. Therefore, teachers’ salary should be in consistent with the pre-set criteria for employment like their potency to aspire interest and create a productive learning environment. Besides, developing a more complex system is desirable to evaluate academic teachers. Academic teachers might be evaluated by offering new teaching methodologies, devoting more time and attention to classes and re examining their approach. This system would avoid the pitfall of merit based salary system.

On the other hand, some may argue that teachers’ salary should be directly proportional to the students’ performance as the payment could encourage and motivate teachers to improve their teaching quality leading to better learning results. However, this perspective could not hold true since academic proficiency is the output of combined effort from both teachers and students. State university students are commonly self motivated and zealous to acquire knowledge. Hence, considerable variation in terms of students’ learning performance is not expected.

In conclusion, teachers’ salary should not be weighed merely on the students’ academic performance but other measures like teachers’ competency, innovative teaching methodologies productive learning environment, etc. should be taken into account as well.