Essay topic 5: Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art is an integral part of our society which reflects society’s perspective over various subjects. The use of government funding to develop art has been a prolonged discussion with contrasting viewpoints. While some argue that it would be better for artists to protect their independence with regard to governments. This essay agrees that government should allocate money to support art in order to boom the art and be accessible to commoners.

To begin with, arts preserve a country’s unique culture; for instance, Persian New Year customs using various artistic decorative items and special traditional dance and music have helped conserve Persian New Year culture so far. Moreover, government investigating in museums, galleries, and music can make it possible to be open to app people for free or a little admission which encourage more commoners to visit such places and appreciate artworks such as painting, sculptures and musicians. Some visitors could also be inspired by visiting artists and pursue their own interests.

In addition, specific types of arts such as movies and concerts are invested by private investors as they are mainly concerned with making quick money by increasing the ticket prices or taking high advantages of the contracts. Other types of arts like calligraphy, traditional handicrafts and cuisines are overlooked. Therefore, the government funding can balance such a fraud market and make it more affordable to wide audience. Furthermore, other types of art could flourish by governments support.

Some artists frequently live a difficult life and struggle with poverty. For example, Van Gogh sustained himself with basic needs of life and saved his money to provide art supplies some people are talented but they cannot afford taking art courses and they leave their interests and talents behind. If government funding were available to artists, they could develop their genuine talents and creative minds. Funding also could be used for viable promotion of art to appeal large number of audiences to help make more revenues for the artists to create more art. General public are exposed to artworks as well that they might not have discovered before.

In contrary, some argue that government funding may impose restrictions on artists. Some artists who come from hardships create pure and genuine art. Therefore, funded artists might opt to compromise their art and lose their integrity of their works. Besides, some artists are iconoclasts and their art contest government positions; as a result, they should be free to illustrate different perspectives of the society. Artists who depend on government funding to make their artworks would not contend with the governmental views. For instance, there are lots of restricted rules on singers and musicians in Iran. Hence, they have to either abandon the country or present ingenious and limited art. In such cases, government should not interfere in and provide money to affiliated institutions to sponsor the artists to develop art without restrictions.

In conclusion, government should fund the arts to develop and popularize them among people. Although government funding might cause the arts to lose integrity and genuineness in some cases, it can provide the artists with opportunities to present their talents and hand over the power to the affiliated communities without meddling in art development to ensure purity and integrity of art. Thus, the advantages of government funding to art outweighs the disadvantages.