Essay topic 35: It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Social activities play an important role in individuals’ development. Self-definition comes primarily through interaction with other people and not through self reflection and independent thinking. Some may contend that people learn about themselves more by being alone than by being among others. However, I concede that people can define themselves through interaction within the social groups.

To begin with, it is beneficial and efficient for people to define themselves through social interaction rather than self reflection since people employ the comparison and contrast method among the social groups. As gregarious creatures, humans endeavor to gain a sense of security by being a member of social groups. Thus, they figure out similarities and differences with others to make their characteristics compatible with other members of the group so that they can establish the distinctiveness of their social groups. For instance, once an individual joins a sport club, he manages to find out some common characteristics like hardworking, cooperativeness, well disciplined with other members. On the other hand, he also recognizes the differences like food tastes and music which makes him distinctive from other members. Thus, compare and contrast method helps make an image of an individual who he is.

In addition, the identification with a social group contributes to self-definition. This identification like a mirror reflects our current state and project an image of the group to which we belong. People from the same social groups have common characteristics which help individuals discern their own qualities and defaults. For instance, doctors wear the same uniform and use specific words which make them distinct from civil engineers who wear a safety hat and uniform. These common features demonstrate their social identity.

In contrary, it is argued that all people have their own values regardless of which groups they belong to. Some individuals do not regard other people’s criticism and praise as the unique standard for their definition. Such people are confident enough to build self value system and maintain certain distance. Individuals should not constrain themselves by the social groups to be able to meet their own reality. For instance, artists may refuse to conform to the dominant and popular artistic trends. While some film makers picture stereotype issues of the society, some others incline to make movies based on real life of people which this help them to define their own characteristics.

In conclusion, people define themselves through interaction with social groups and evaluate themselves by the feedback they receive from members of the group. However, everyone has unique features like food tastes and music which make them independent creatures.