It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's world, we all are well aware of multiple personalities a person can have. Not treating this in a negative sense but actually analysing this phenomena we can say that a person behaves diffferently in different groups. A person would be more casual with his friends and with people of same age group whereas with family and elder people he might be more venerate.

Similarly different social groups might have disparate impressions of person. When claiming that a person defines himself or herself based on his identification with the social groups is ambiguos. Let us consider an example of an introvert person and an extrovert person. Introvert person will rarely be an active part of a social group and he might be identified as a boring person. Whereas in reality, he can be jovial person provided he feels comfortable. And just because he is identified as not so interesting person doesn't mean that he also defines himself on similar basis. In contrast when talking about extroverts, they might be garrulous. Although he can also be identified as the creating a convivial atmosphere but in reality he might be feeling low and wants to obscure that using his jokes. So his identification in the group and definition og himself are not abreast.

Looking into another point of view, as our elderly says that our circle of friends define us. This might not be completely false. When we start spending time with a particular group of people, we learn adapt some their qualities inadvertently which includes both the good and the bad ones. It can lead to change our inherent behaviour in accorddance to the that of the social group. So in some way, our identification in social group might define ourselves.

Considering the different point of views, we can say that our identification in the social group does contribute to the definition of ourselves but it is not necessarily the primary factor. The behaviour of a person might change completely from one social group to another but the definition would change.