It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing a

The self-definition comes primarily through interaction with other people not through self-observation, independent thinking and introspection. This claim overemphasize the roles of social activities on an individual development and negates the subjective definition. I certainly believe that interaction with social groups reflects our personality to some extent and embodies our present mental state in some ways, but a person’s existing social presence neither could define a person’s character thoroughly nor should impede their future anticipation.

Firstly, I do agree that the social interaction do help in the development of one’s character. This statement serves like a mirror which can say our current state and project a big image of the group to which we belong. Although Chinese emperor Taizong used to say that using friends as a mirror people discern their interests and faults. In fact, our friends play important role in our identification as we spend more time with the people who share same values and perception. For example, People who loves wearing branded clothes and shoes would be friends with the one who loves similar things rather than with someone who believes in simplicity. Furthermore, this common point draw a big picture of this group. For instance, the appealing appearances of financial consultants reflects their dependence on external images on judging people, accentuates their attention to physical world. On Contrary, wearing style of minimalism leading by Mark Zuckerberg reflects the coders indifference to the external images and physical attention to the world. However, common points of same social group are too vague to determine someone’s personality precisely and insightfully.

Secondly self-founding is a complicated journey in itself with full of surprises. In addition to social interactions there are multiple things that could help us in the process of self-definition. One of the most important thing we must try to push ourselves beyond our limitations. For example, reading novel and watching movies are a good way. Inspired by the words of Oscar Wilde that “We live in the world of gutter with some of us looking at stars”, I want to become person of idealism and refuse to conform the current social consumerism and idealism. Furthermore, from the book of Shakespeare I have discovered my spirit of sacrifice to love. However, we are all inspired by books, movies, poems in one in another way at some point of our life.

Thirdly, the word ‘primarily’ in the claim emphasizes the role of outer world in development of your identification rather than inner world. However, ego founding and self-defining is a personal approach and relates fundamentally to the person’s experiences and motivation. When some universities ask students to read list of books every one of them would have their own perception for those books. For example, Me and my sister have totally different path although, we grew up with same environment, knowledge and same group of people around us. Hence, these example illustrates that self-identification is determined by inner world and experiences rather than outer world.

To recapitulate, identification with social groups helps to form an abstract view of who we are. However, to form a precise and sensitive self-definition is a tortuous process which requires constant confrontation with the realities, non-stop retrospection and gradual formation of inner world.