The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell quot Two years ago the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel During the past two years tourism in Ocean View has increased n

In the given memo, mayor of Hopewell has recommended to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean view in order to wax the economy and generate additional tax revenues. To buttress his argument he stated that neighbouring town of Ocean View established a new municipal golf course and built a new resort hotel two years back which has flourished the tourism industry. However, in order to properly evaluate the recommendation the author has to answer some questions and perplexity that came alongside the argument.

First of all, how can we be so sure that bulding a resort and golf course was one of the reasons for the increment in the torurism of Ocean View? In other words, they might have improved their transportation facilities in order to attract many tourists.For example, perhaps they would have increases the number of buses that travels in that road as well as renovated the constructed road which might have make travelling easy. If any of the above point have some merits than the original argument is enervated.

Secondly, can we say that to improve the economy and for better tax revenues building resort is constructing resort is enough? The mayor prematurely assumes that aggrandization in the economy of the Ocean view is due to the establishment of the new business. Even after the establishment of new buisness if people are incognizant about the management of the money than it is useless. For example, people of Ocean view might have learned more about the financial management which probably had made the rise in the economy. If the above point is true, then the argument doesn't hold any water.

Lastly, it is impertinent to compare the two places as both of them have their own individual geographical characteristics. The geography of the Ocean view might differ from the geography of the Hopewell, so it would be erroneous to claim that rise in economy by establishing resort and golf course will increase tourism flow in Hopewll as well.

In conculsion, as it stands now, the recommendations offered by mayor is based on several unwarranted assumptions. If he is able to answer all the questions and quandaries with more pellucid data and with systematic flow of reasearch it is possible to evaluate the proposed recommendation about Hopewell's economy.