Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

The role of the corporates in the society which they serve is like a coin having two sides. When talking about the well being of society and environment, the effort should be a collective one where not only the corporates but also the citizens are equally responsible. But considering that corporates doesn't indulge in activities which harms or disturbs the harmony of the society.

Although we are considering here corporates and citizens as a two different subjects, but in reality they are one and the same. If a corporation has goals which does not match with the social well being of the society it can be accepted as long as they operate in a environment friendly manner. Non co-operation of the corporates for a environment friendly society would result in adverse effects because when considering corporations they are large in number. So a small step by them brings about a drastic change whether it is positive or negative.

However, such negative actions are already covered under the law and prohibited. So in a way we can also agree to an idea of following the law is enough for corporations. If we consider that they not only follow the law but take considerable measures to improve the environment, it might indirectly cost the employees of the corporation. These employees would then turn to cheap products for their personal use which are not eco-friendly like usage of plastic bags instead of cloth bags. So instead of actually investing for the well being of environment, small steps and regulations can be employed which are not covered by the law but are a collective effort of all the employees. Best example to support this statement would be banning the usage of plastic cups for beverages and carrying our own mug. In this way, usage of plastic ups would be reduced by a great number only by following a small initiative.

So when it comes to responsibilities of corporations, money making should be their priority because even that would help in progress of the economy and indirectly helping the society but all this should not be done at the cost of well being of the environment. They should abide the law and if possible should take small steps towards saving our green planet. On the other hand, the employees of the corporation have a responsibility as a citizen to save our nature.