Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations today hold may be the most portion of resources after governments. In futuristic literature there is even a prediction, that those companies will hold a position in society higher than the latter. Therefore there is discussion today on what people should expect from such businesses and at which extent those entities should be responsible for the environment they operate in.

I personally believe that company should be aware anyway of the surrounding environment to be successful. Today big conglomerates already starting to be aware of that, for example, in clothing industry, such big players as H&M or Uniqlo trying to impress people with their conscious approach. This broughts huge of benefits to the image of the company, public and even internal.

Additionally, improper operation can lead to exhaustion of resources, regardless whether in society or nature, while supporting a mindful approach, the company may be able to create a thriving environment not only for itself, but for generations to come.

And as practice shows, corporations have an increased lifespan compared to humans, therefore, keeping a right agenda will affect a very long period of time.

On the other hand, money in capitalism is just a quantitative instrument of showing support and agreement. So in general you can ignore morality judgement and just use money and income to measure whether a company does good for the society or environment. However, I think that this can be a good position only if the government has a strong hold over the law, because otherwise corporations, especially those with a highly developed law departments, can find workarounds and holes in current legal state, what can lead to unthinkable and shocking consequences.

All in all, I strongly believe that corporations should go with a conscious approach.