The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Fitness of a person majorly depends on two factors viz. His physical activity and his diet. Compromise on any one of them would hinder the progress of person towards the physical fitness. Physical activity is more related to a person's physical strength and his diet is more responsible for his personal health. Considering these points, when we evaluate the given argument we understand that it is based on many assumptions.

The conclusion made that twenty years ago physical fitness ratio among the people in Corpora was better is completely bogus because the standards defined twenty years ago ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.