Essay topic 6: Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Those in power are typically experts in their fields and they have achieved their positions by knowledge, skills, abilities and experience. Some people argue that managers and principals should be changed after five years since the key to success is appointing new leaders. I agree with this assertion that we should set a time limit for those in power in so far as the new leaders are beneficial to their respective enterprise. However, we should bear in mind that experienced and qualified leaders have undeniable role in succeeding many of the biggest businesses and organizations.

First and foremost, new leaders are often very motivated, flexible and full of new ideas with less bias. They have not been restricted to the routine process of work and they commonly seek for the new ways of managing the relevant businesses. they are also familiar with the most recent technological and services around the world and such characteristics are viable for any enterprise whereas old leaders are comfortable with their status quo and often remain latent at the challenge ahead. As a result, the business would not be able to cope with the challenging world and gradually the business will lose its power.

Moreover, the leaders who remain in power for a long time maintain the absolute power which might get them corrupt. For instance, we can see leaders in my country with high level managerial positions that spend the national wealth and budget for their personal purposes rather than improve the economical problems of the country.

It is also argued that we must keep a good leader for a long time as it is believed “knowledge is power” which holds true in some fields. Most fields benefit from leaders in power who have deep knowledge of those area- scientists have spent decades researching the same topic, teachers who have specialized in one area of study, and CEOs who have spent their careers with the same company. Having wells of knowledge create leaders that can draw on their own stores and personal experiences to solve dynamic problems and forge strong entities such as businesses, governments, and universities. Admittedly, new leaders might not be as experienced and knowledgeable as the old ones and they possibly make wrong decisions. Furthermore, the new leaders may confront the sophistication of some tasks and they cannot manage them logically. They are also more likely to take risks which might be detrimental for the entities; though, taking the risk is a part of any business and the ability to take risks is substantive to approach accomplishments. Therefore, it is recommended that the optimum trend to revitalize an organization is better achieved in strategy than in leadership.

To conclude, enterprises should revitalize their entities with new qualified and innovative leaders every five years. However, experienced leaders, who are respected and appreciated, should be kept in their managerial position but not for a long time to use their valuable experience in various fields.