Essay topic 11: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education plays a vital role in individuals’ life. People pursue academic degrees to be specialized in a particular major and become professionals. Some argue that universities need to make students take courses outside of their field of study. I do not concur with this issue as students need to concentrate diligently on their specialized field of study without being distracted by irrelevant course.

To begin with, the educational universities are designed to make students experts in a particular field. Students attend universities to gain better insight of a specific major to pursue their professional goals in almost four years. Thus, taking various courses outside of their field of study is waste of time and an impediment to achieve the goal of being an expert. For instance, if the computer science graduate students are required to take other courses like English Literature and Social Sciences, they will not only fulfill their goals to be professionals but also be frustrated as they find universities useless.

In addition, schools offer a plethora of subjects which aid to provide a better sense of knowledge. Therefore, if the universities follow the same educational system, they will be more like general high schools that is not the main purpose of universities. Universities can offer additional optional courses to provide an opportunity to educate avid students to learn about other interdisciplinary course without hindering them to accomplish their goal of being an expert in a specific field.

In contrast, some argue that advances in some disciplines require knowledge from various fields to ensure that all students obtain a complete education which can enhance their progress in their major. For instance, art and design students should take courses in designing software to make their designing knowledge practical. Knowledge of Literature, cultural background and foreign language can also inspire them to improve their advertising dexterity and interactive skill to connect international professionals.

To conclude, the policy of taking various courses outside of one’s field will waste student’s time and take any possibilities of attaining better in a field of study. However, some disciplines such as art and designing benefit from studying diverse courses.