Essay topic 14: Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Political leaders encounter numerous responsibilities and challenges throughout their time as leaders. Adhering to a set of principals and objectives or compromising with the public is one of those challenges which lead to the efficacy of the political leaders. While some argue that political leaders should observe their principals and compromise, I concur with the claim of adhering into one principal in order to get the leader to bring about positive changes in the country.

To begin with, it is obvious that a leader who remains committed to particular principals can make positive changes which are fruitful for the society. To exemplify this, let us consider the example of King Reza, the former king of Iran, who made drastic changes in the country by constructing universities, settling rustic wanderers and offering study opportunities in abroad for scholars. Although he confronted with strong opposition from ordinary people and aristocracies, he implemented those principals. Had he compromised with the principals of his opponents, he could not have made such outstanding reformations which helped Iran thrive as a powerful and modern country in his dynasty period.

Moreover, adhering to principals assists the leaders not only intensifies to take the correct path but also aids to attain acceptance from the public. To illustrate this, let us take the example of Nelson Mandela who concentrated on ending racism, discrimination, inequity and racial understanding. Despite the plethora of opportunities to impede his social campaign, proponents of his principals outnumbered the opponents and eventually resulted in considerable social changes.

However, some leaders could be effective by compromise rather than specific objectives. For instance, a governmental leader proposes funding a space program that was promised as an objective long time ago. As there would be elections in the near future, people who pay taxes have decided not to reelect the member of the government if they do not spend their money on building hospitals in deserted areas of the country. Therefore, the leaders should compromise with the public instead of following their own principals.

In conclusion, political leaders can bring positive changes by remaining bond to their principals which generally help the welfare of the nation but at times objectives should be taken for compromise.