Essay topic 19: Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Justice of law is the basic requirement for a democratic government as people behave in accordance with the laws. Any impair jurisdiction will have detrimental influence on people and government, therefore, people must obey laws apart from the conditions controlled morally which require flexibility of circumstances, time and place preferably case by case basis.

To begin with, the authority should make specific standard of laws and behavior of violation when we drive a car, we must follow the rules of traffic and driving to prevent any serious accidents and driving problems. As citizens of a country, we must pay the taxes to provide the revenues of the country to enable the government to enhance our quality of life. Thus, there is little discussion of punishing law breakers as long as the security and quality of citizens’ life is concerned. On the other hand, the authority must consider some situations and cases which require the revision and flexibility of laws. To exemplify this, let us consider the development of Internet. Development of technology of the Internet has played a vital role in our daily life these days. As people are connected globally and the authority also needs the nation privacy protection of internet, the impact of protecting people’s privacy is more and more fundamental to the country. Therefore, the legislation of Internet privacy is imperative and the relevant existing laws must be revised immediately.

In addition, there are some cases that the law is not a good choice whereas the morality does. For instance, there is a debate about the legislation that adults must look after the elderly by law in China. Since China is a traditional country in which respecting elderly is the basic moral rule of the country. Therefore, it is the area of morality not the law.

In conclusion, laws must be enforced to protect the country against various types of crimes to avoid any detrimental affects on citizens’ life. However, laws could be flexible as the morality concerns.