Essay topic 2: Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The main learning period of knowledge, ideas, beliefs, skills and values occurs in education institutions which play a huge role in developing and shaping students into professionals and responsible citizens. It is the responsibility of educational institutions to recognize students’ strengths and weakness and encourage them to take the appropriate paths. Therefore, educational centers should discourage students from pursuing fields of interest in which they may encounter difficulties hindering them to be successful.

To begin with, educational institutions can realize the inclination of the students and nurture their talents accordingly. They are effective in evaluating students’ skills through the grade point average, teacher comments and some quizzes and collect the same chances of success in any structure. These centers have the duty to identify individual’s talents and foster them to become consummate professionals.

In addition, the possibility of reaching the zenith for students is considerably increased by nurturing their talents from the beginning. The students can begin their professional careers much more quickly and contribute to society by turning into a valuable asset. As the student has a very biased training dedicated to his interests, opportunities come knocking on his door. Doubt on this argument can be cast be the fact of existence of students who are unsure of their strengths and career paths. However, the doubt is overshadowed by the fact that this issue can be easily solved by career counseling and wise guidance.

Moreover, studying any fields in college requires investments in time, energy and money. Students have to devote time to complete their credits and end up spending on high tuition fees. Therefore, pursuing a major in consistent with one’s abilities and potentials could facilitates such a path. Success also depends on hard work, persistent and dedication to get improved. The educational institutions may encourage them to try out available scholarships and assist them in finding an opportunity to work in consistent with their capabilities.

Some may argue that educational centers are supposed to be a place where everyone should get an equal chance to grow and help individuals fulfill their dream by pursuing the right path and direction to them. Thus, if institutions discourage the students, they not only impede students to achieve their dreams but they also demotivate them. However, there are some students either pursing unrealistic passions or being influenced by their surroundings to choose fields in which they have less chance to succeed.

In conclusion, educational institutions should prevent students following fields that may lead to failure and waste of time and money. Academic centers can advise students to select the appropriate paths to be successful professionals.