Essay topic 16: The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People typically make decisions to give authority to the government officials so as to manage the society fairly and efficiently. People have the right to involve in political decisions in some cases and question the authority to ensure maintenance of their power and amelioration of conditions. Thus, it is essential for the well being of society that people question the authority.

First of all, power has the tendency to corrupt people. To assure that government is making the right decisions to serve people, people should question the authority. If citizens are unable to question actions taken by the government, it would lead to the concentration of power by officials and consequently monarchy and corruption. For instance, Hitler had the absolute power when he was chosen as the leader of Germany which eventually led him to crush anyone who objected to his policies and worsened the welfare of the people. There are also other cases such as North Korea which are ruled under the dictatorship by centralization of power in the hand of specific people and people have been restricted to express their voice against government and the welfare of the society has been decreased rather than increased.

In contrary, bias questioning of the authority may impede their efficiency while democracy promotes the quality of life, some people lack political awareness to question the authority. For example, the public in Iran has an ignorance of issues like petroleum revenues. This problem can be ameliorated by raising the public awareness to make their participation in political decisions more effectively. Government should also have platforms for interactive communication with the public to enhance their involvement in the political issues and invoke their eagerness in making positive investment.

In conclusion, questioning the authority is an integral part of a society to maintain its well being and avoid monarchy and corruption. However, to avoid bias questioning and enhancement of government efficiency, public raise their awareness of political issues.