Essay topic 13: Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions play a significant role in inspiring students to choose practical majors which bring students remunerative outcomes. Such a perspective raises a controversial issue. Some argue that educational centers should encourage students to choose their field of study while others believe that students should select their career path in accordance with their interests and abilities. Considering the importance of ability and interest in being successful in a major and a career, I would discuss that educational centers should provide eclectic resources and give students freedom in choosing their own career in consistent with their personal interests and talents.

First of all, students attend educational centers to learn and get trained in their chosen field. Studying in college is the last period of learning for many students and they would begin working in society and live on their own. As a result, they need to equip themselves with sufficient knowledge and skills in the college years to ensure they are qualified enough in the competitive market. Students majored in the field with abundant job opportunities and high salaries like IT, programming and medical science tend to generally gain a high probability than those majored in history and geography. Thus, the positive effect of encouraging students to select fields with a lucrative prospect by educational institutions is undeniable.

However, advancement of technology in recent years has proved that specific fields demand the greater talents which lead to higher wages. Almost two decades ago, electronic engineering graduates could get jobs with satisfactory salaries by inventing integrated circuits while in the recent years IT and programming graduate students are valued by the largest companies like Google and Microsoft. It cannot be guaranteed what technology prevails now would continue to flourish after twenty years. Therefore, there might be risks if educational institutions recommend all students to study specific fields.

Furthermore, discrepancies exist among students and their talents as well as interest which demonstrate all students learning similar courses might not obtain positive results. For instance, a student who is interested in history will find it tough follow institution recommendation to study computer science. A student gifted in math may find Literature courses rather dull. Consequently, students studying beyond their interests or talents may lose their enthusiasm for learning and their precious time may be wasted which could be spent on their favorite subjects.

To conclude, students should be given opportunities to choose their field of study and educational centers nee to provide sufficient resources in various fields to meet the demands students. Hence, students could be supplied by adequate resources to utilize their talents and interests which eventually end up with satisfactory career.