Essay topic 22: The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are various methods of teaching applied by teachers depending on the subjects and the learners’ age. Students may make mistakes in the process of learning and instructors evaluate students’ performance by providing positive and negative feedbacks. Some argue that reflecting positive feedback while neglecting the negative feedback is the best way to teach. Although this approach may be viable in some circumstances, it fails o consider other significant criteria of teaching such as learning motivation, learners’ age and the subject or skill which must be determined to proceed with the best teaching method.

To begin with, age is an important factor in determining the teaching method. Younger children require more positive feedback and compliments to reinforce their learning and maintain their motivation to learn effectively. For instance, elementary school learners make numerous mistakes while learning alphabets and basic mathematics. Teachers must overlook the trivial mistakes and encourage learners to follow the correct pattern by furnishing positive feedback like peer learning. Teaching methods would vary for adult learners. Adults are motivated and inclined to accomplish their goals; therefore, constructive and realistic feedbacks must be given to them so as to overcome their shortcomings and assure their improvement. To exemplify this, let us consider an engineering student who requires submitting the class project on programming. The teacher should provide realistic feedback on his work so that the student realizes he needs to remove the defects; otherwise, he will not pass the course.

In addition, determining the teaching method also depends on the subject or skill being taught. Some subjects like music require instant feedback to point out the errors in order to prevent students from making mistakes again while practicing. Providing feedback on other subjects like history or geography may not be considered influential. However, giving positive feedback keeps students motivated to learn more. As a result, the subject indicates the required type of feedback. The vital role of positive feedback cannot be neglected. Some learners lack the required potential to learn specific subjects like mathematics and physics and some other learners suffer from psychological barriers like anxiety or punishment by their teachers or parents. Hence, such learners must be supported by positive feedback from the teacher to improve their learning. If students find themselves helpless and reprimanded for their mistakes, they will quit learning and achieving their goals. Consequently, positive reinforcement would work. In contrary, extolling positive feedback could be detrimental for some students. Some students get used to such a behavior and cannot accept any criticism on their mistakes and faults. As a result, the best way of teaching would be constructive feedback to make them prudent of their problems and consequences to avoid any serious issues in the future.

In conclusion, it is required to concentrate on the teaching method in accordance with factor like age of learners and subjects to obtain desirable outcomes. The best method of teaching requires positive, negative or combination of both in consistent with learners’ cases.