Essay topic 27: The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scientific research and development like high tech electric devices and medical equipment as well as treatment of diseases have benefited the society in various areas of technology and medicine. Some argue that scientific experiment somewhat requires to be restricted. After weighing the evidences, it is obvious that the authority must constrict scientific research and development to some extent.

To begin with, today’s world is based on the scientific technology and development. Had the relevant experiment been done, we would not have had the existing progress in our life. To illustrate this, let us consider the example of invention and development of the computer the current smart phones and iPads have been the outcomes of doing multitude researches and experts that has facilitated our life so that we connect people who are a whole world apart. In addition, many diseases are cured these days because numerous experiments and researches have been conducted to enable the researchers to find out new medications. Thus, all these advances are rooted in the prior researches in such areas.

In addition, some developments are interconnected like computer and internet. If the authority limits the research in IT areas, there will not be any further development in the future while it is predicated that the future generations’ life would absolutely be controlled by computer like robots via internet. Thus, setting limits on such advancement would be detrimental for the future generations.

In contrast, it is argued that giving through freedom on the scientific experiment will lead to inparable consequences. For instance, development of nuclear power has made some countries powerful. If an unrest circumstance happens internationally among some countries like Russia and Iran, the atomic war will probably occur. Therefore, it is integral to restrict scientific research and experiments in this area. Another example could be the development of some chemical materials derived from petroleum. Some countries produce these chemical products which pollute not only the air but also the environment which ultimately endangers many people’s life and wildlife.

Moreover, some experimental research in medication could be detrimental while it saves people’s life; it takes life out of people. For instance, chemists and pharmacists work on formulation of medicines. Some of the medicines are categorized as hazard or narcotic which must be consumed under the official permits of the relevant organizations. Otherwise, they would be easily accessible to everyone which would generally threaten the health of the society. Also, if there wouldn’t be any restrictions on the research in the areas of new formulations and medications, some scientists might have insane ideas and make fatal drugs which result in unpredictable consequences. Furthermore, genetics experiments and research could lead to catastrophic consequences if they conducted illegally. Some criminals may use such experiments to disturb the crime scene investigation.

In conclusion, the scientific research and experiment must be somewhat supervised and restricted by the authority to avoid any disastrous outcomes like atomic war and emergence of new fatal drugs.