The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue on the best way to teach is a contentious one. While both sides have it strength and weakness I believe ignoring the negative actions is not the best approach because the learner has no idea of the implication of the wrong he or she has committed, also ignoring a negative action done by a learner doe not change the fact that the learner is wrong.

Firstly, the magnitude of a negative action might be unknown to the learner and the only way the learner can understand is to chastise the negative action. For instance, a little boy taking his classmate’s pencil without asking does not know that such act is known as stealing, which is not good. If the boys continue with such act there’s no doubt, he will one day graduate to the level of taking someone else’s money and later graduate to other higher level of stealing.

Secondly, ignoring negative action doesn’t change the fact that the learner did take some negative actions. There is a saying in Nigeria that “two wrong doesn’t make a right”. For instance, a boy stole his classmate’s pencil and when he was asked how he got the pencil, he then lied again. Negative actions bring forth other negative action if not corrected or chastised immediately.

Some may argue that praising just the positive actions increase learner’s self-esteem and increase productivity, but in doing that we forget about the learner’s moral standing.

In conclusion, I believe the proper way to teach is to chastise negative actions once such action take place, not just praising the positive actions.