A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issues whether or not there should be a national curriculum for all schools before entering college is a contentious one. While both sides have it strengths and weaknesses, I believe a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum. I agree with the statement because of the following reasons.

Firstly, it is a form of setting standard for the educational system of the nation. Any school not following the national curriculum will not be accredited by the nation. Also, it brings unity between the country. For instance, a country as big as the united states of America, such act will standardize the educational system.

Secondly, if all students of a nation in their respective schools have the same curriculum, there wil be uniformity in their knowledge and they will be able to compete intellectually with each other outside the walls of the school without anyone feeling inferior or superior with their level of knowledge. For instance, in a science inter-school competition, schools will be able to compete properly since they both study the same curriculum and judgement will be square and fair. No school will claim they are better because of their own type of curriculum.

Admittedly, if the curriculum is set too low, one may argue that uniform knowledge among the students will in someway limit the thinking capacity of some good students that could take more challenging curriculum. However, this will not be in favor of the students who are always struggling academically, setting the curriculum too high for them will not encourage such students.

Conclusively, I agree with the statement because uniformity in a nation's curriculum sets good standard for the nation, and other above stated reasons.