Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teachers’ salaries should not be based on their students’ academic performance. The idea that teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance is irrational and unjust to the teachers because some students find some subjects like physics and mathematics difficult to comprehend, this is not totally the fault of the teacher, some student even have terrible attitude towards education.

Firstly, subjects like physics and mathematics that students find difficult to comprehend and have poor performance in, even though the teachers are putting in their best to pass the knowledge unto the students. It will be irrational and unjust for such subject teachers to be paid based on the poor academic performance of the students, forgetting the fact that the teachers did their best as teachers. Likewise, there are subjects that are easy to understand, even without the teachers doing much of a work, that doesn’t mean they should be paid more.

Secondly, teachers didn’t go through the stress of going to college to get Bachelor’s degree and sometime Masters or PhD to become a teacher for their salaries to be decided by their students who has refused to pass. There are some students who makes teaching difficult for teachers, where I come from we call the NFA (No Future Ambition), they are also known to be back sitters of the class. It will be unfair for the teachers’ salaries to be decided by these set of students.

However, one may argue that teachers will put in more effort if their salaries are decided by the students’ academic performance but putting into consideration the set of NFA mentioned earlier, who has made up their mind not to pass a subject. The teachers’ fate should not be left in such hands.

In conclusion, with the above reasons the teachers’ salaries should not be based on students’ academic performance.