The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To teach a child, it is necessary to consider both positive actions and negative actions. Some might argue that ignoring the negative ones while praising the positive ones is the most effective way to teach. I strongly disagree with this ideology, because in order to learn, you need to derive lessons from negative AND positive actions. And there are a couple of reasons why I think this is true.

To begin with, as humans, we tend to ignore our mistakes or wrong actions due to remorse. Somehow, we make ourselves feel better by pushing these negative actions to the back of our minds, instead of analyzing and facing them, and therefore, not learning or getting any valuable lessons out of them. And this is a huge mistake, since the most important and valuable lessons are derived from our wrongdoings throughout life. If parents, employers or teachers choose to not point out these shortcomings in ones behavior or performance, they will create an austere indvidual who is not aware of their negative aspects; someone who will definitely not excel in their life, career, education etc.. Some might argue that pointing out negative actions might induce a feeling of extreme guilt that could lead to self-indulgence in depression, but it needs to be clarified, that an individual must be affirmed that although they've made a mistake, it doesn't necassarily mean that they're a bad person, or that they deserve punishment, but instead, it means that they are a more self-aware and enlightened person who can face their shortcomings with an open mind to learn a bigger lesson.

Consequentially, informing someone on their shortcomings along with praising their positive efforts will lead to forming a more confident and realistic individual who can face the world, whilst accepting their mistakes throughout the journey of life. On the other hand, praising good actions only can lead to the upcoming of a selfish, egotist personality, that would throw the blame of their mistakes on everyone BUT themselves. Those indviduals navigate in life thinking that they are the perfect and model human beings, somewhat untouchable, simply because they were never confronted with their wrongdoings. Dealing with such people, or forming any sort of relationship with them can be very difficult for almost everyone around them, because no one wants to be invloved with a person who thinks they're immune to mistakes. Despite that, some would claim that acknowledging both good and bad actions can be confusing and one should focus on a single thing in order to learn. I'd argue that humans are the most concious and mentally aware beings on this planet, and if you can't focus on two, equally important things at the same time, you're seriously underestimating your abilities.

In conclusion, people learn from both their positive and negative actions in order to achieve healthy realtionships in life, work or schools, or just to even simply better themselves as human beings, who are ALWAYS prone to mistakes.