The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt asks if the best way to teach is by praising positive actions and ignore negative ones. This sentence seems to claim the issue as black and white, either you praise positive actions or focus only on negative ones. Clearly, the argument is nuanced and negative actions cannot be ignored. Every single person that has learned through an experience has to have seen an example of a negative action in order to gain a deeper understanding of an issue. Hence, I disagree with the posture of the prompt.

To begin, it is imperative for any learner to be presented with an example of a negative action in order to allow them to learn. For example, children in elementary school tend to not have a clear understanding of the concept of bullying. More often than not, they may be prone to practice the act with their fellow classmates. In this case, it would be an egregious act to choose to ignore this example and to only focus on the times when it does not occur. How are children supposed to know when they made a mistake? By noting the unwanted behavior, the child will be granted a chance to learn and become a better individual.

Moreover, specifically in the workforce, supervisors seem to have a clear hold of this issue. It is important for employees to be told of mistakes committed on their behalf. A simple example could be of proper email etiquette. If an employee does not know how to respond professionally, this may make the department/company or the employee himself look bad. It’s up the leadership team to relate this fault to the person, and provide a proper explanation as to how it has to be improved. Much like the example above, this will allow the individual an opportunity to grow.

Nonetheless, proponents of praise may argue that praising has positive effects on those individuals. This is coherent, after all no one prefers to be told of every single mistake ever committed. But both options have to be available for use depending on the situation. For example, a coach may praise a quality play provided by one member of his team. The reason is to encourage the individual to repeat this action. However, if the individual commits a terrible gaff, then this must be addressed promptly for the sake of the person and the team. It would be counterproductive to ignore this mistake and only focus on the good actions.

In conclusion, teaching by only praising positive actions while ignoring negative ones is arguably not the best way to teach. Certainly, individuals could learn by only being told of their good deeds. But a deeper opportunity to learn is provided when negative actions are committed. This is more effective and beneficial to the individual and those surrounding the person.