A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The subject of education, understandably so, has many points of view that range from parents wanting to dictate what their offspring should learn to other individuals wanting to standardize the content taught in schools. Specifically, I tend to agree with the idea that a nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum until they get to college. This provides a more efficient system that ultimately benefits the citizens of the country.

One idea is that it is better to standardize the curriculum, so no students are disadvantaged by local governments that may want to alter the curriculum for a wide variety of reasons. We all know corruption exists in the world and it will never disappear. There will be times when alternative interests in non-federal governments may contrast with the benefit of the citizens. In those instances, politicians may be swayed to meddle with the curriculum. One issue occurring at the time, is the argument behind using public education funds to allow some students to get private education. This obviously draws a wedge between the affluent and the rest of the population. Some may feel entitled to elect private schools, others feel that if we are not focused on public education, then only those who can afford private institutions will be exposed to a better education system which will leave some students behind. If the curriculum is standardized, then it puts everyone on the same level and doesn't negatively influence a segment of the population.

Furthermore, if we have one single national curriculum, it will allow for better preparation from a systematic point of view. By having all the citizens involved in one issue, then the participation from all of them should drive the system forward. And because we only have on system to work with, it should be easier to manage compared to having one system per city.

In contrast with this point of view, challengers may feel their personal freedom affected by being negated their choice to elect what they consider the best for their children. This would be valid without context, but again elected representatives should be elected based on their experience and knowledge. So, having experts in charge should make the system better as the future of the nation will be the focus of those leaders.

Having a single curriculum for the education system of a nation has a better outcome and should be the standard in every country. It minimizes the chances of corruption or negative outside influences from taking advantage of the system. By having everyone in the same curriculum, if anyone wants to change it, then all eyes will be on the issue as everyone will be affected by it. For this same reason, people will put experts in place to operate the education system, and as a result it will be of greater benefit for the country itself.