According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The author's argument of deciding to assign the blame of a decrease in movie attendance to the lack of advertisement, as opposed to movie quality seems plausible at first. Once its properly analyzed, there are many questions that arise due to the lack of evidence and logical thoughts related by the author. Ultimately, the argument is flawed and unsound.

Initially, the author decides to negate the idea of bad movie quality as the cause for the decrease in attendance, due to the increase in positive reviews by movie reviewers. The author seems to fully believe reviewers can dictate general public interest in movies. We live in the age of the internet and social media. Everyone has an opinion and is a defacto movie reviewer. Personally, movie reviews do no factor in my decision when I pick what movie to watch. I don't know of anyone who follows movie reviewers recommendations and acts upon them. If anything, a counter argument would be that many people make their decision based on movie trailers. Perhaps, the quality of those trailers has decreased and ultimately has led to the base issue the author is trying to solve.

Furthermore, the author makes an assertion that because movie reviews improved, therefore the issue is not the movie quality, but the contents of those reviews are not reaching potential viewers. There seems to be a lack of critical thinking as there may be other factors affecting the outcome. Possibly, the quality of the movie theaters has declined, making customers less likely to attend. Another reason could be that movie theaters have become too expensive, and customers choose to wait until the movie is released digitally. Needless to say, more data has to be provided to explicitly assertain this assumption.

Lastly, the author suggests that increasing the advertising budget will lead to an increase in movie viewership. Potentially, this could happen. After all, advertisement is done to promote a message to large numbers of people. However, how do we know this will have the specific impact they want to achieve? Has this been done in the past? Is there data that correlates a specific percent increase in the advertising budget with a clear increase in movie attendance? Those should be follow up questions the director should ask his marketing department. From the description above, it seems they want to throw money in the hope of getting more people to come. It could work, but he won't know how successful he was or if he tackled the real reason behind this issue.

Even though the author suggests that increasing the advertisement budget will lead to an increase in attendance, there are other concerns he seems to not properly analyze. He assumes people listen to movie reviewers. But the reality is that people listen to what they see from their friends on the internet. Others choose based on movie trailers. Perhaps the quality of movie theaters has declined. Or prices have heavily increased. More evidence has to be provided by the marketing department to fully assess the reality of the situation. Until this is done, then the argument the director makes will continue to appear flawed.