Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The description argues that the incursions of deep-sea-fishermen in the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp, have led to a significant reduction in the species' population. As a result, in a few years the species will become endangered.

This argument lacks concise data. The main point is that the fishermen have induced a reduction in the species' population. This in theory makes sense. There is an assumed cause and effect. However, more data would be required to make an accurate assessment of the population size before the fishermen began their incursions. Perhaps if information was provided of the population sizes before and after the fishermen arrived, this would give a clear idea of the damage they are causing. This would raise other questions, such as who conducted the study? And, what was the methodology used to determine the population size?

The second assumption is that the breeding season will lead to an increase in the shrimp's population. Again, on paper this may make sense. However, with the damage the fishermen have cause to the habitat, there may be secondary consequences. There could also be a decline in the female population. Or the areas where shrimps are born may be destroyed. More background data establishing basic facts of shrimp's reproduction could be provided and may strengthen the argument.

Finally, the description ties the effects of the fishermen's incursions as a trend that will make the Madagascan shrimp an endangered species. This could be true, assuming all the data not provided by the description is correct. But as I've mentioned before, data is needed to have a complete understanding of the situation. If we know with certainty the population size before and after the fishermen's involvement, we could make a graph showing the negative trend. Once the information is presented, perhaps the public may demand the government to maintain limitations on the fishermen.

The description lacks the data to back up its argument that fishermen's incursions into the shrimp's habitat not only have caused a decline in the population's size, but they will make the species endangered. If the researchers provided their data and methodology, then it could be a compelling argument that may make the local government get involved.