Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The argument states that the numbers of the Madagascan shrimp in their habitat has declined significantly due to the recent incursions of deep-sea fisherman into the habitat. I beleive that the premise of the argument is not cogent and will require further evidence for the argument to be proved beyond any reasonable doubt.

It can be possible that due to global warming, the predators that primarily relied on the shrimps for their sustenance might have migrated further south due to the warmer waters near the equatorial region of Madagascar, causing the population of the shrimps to grow exponentially without check in the past few years to such an extent that they have become a nuisance for other species of sea creatures and coral reefs which are present in the same habitat. Therefore, allowing the fishing operations in the region might in fact cause the number of shrimps to reduce to the point at which they were before the fishing boats had arrived and cause the habitat to flourish again.

It might also be possible, that the shrimp are in fact not a nuisance, therefore the United Nations is planning to pass an international resolution barring the hunting of shrimps in international waters after analysing the over exploitation being done by the fisherman, where most of the habitat of the shrimps is located, with an aim of protecting said species. This would cause the trend suggested by the second part of the argument to be reversed causing a growth in the number of shrimp which would surely eclipse their previous numbers and hence will not lead to their endangerment.

One could also say that the waters during the breeding season of the shrimp are quite tempestuos in the Madagascan region. The inclement climate during that period is not safe for any fishing activity, which has to be halted for a period of atleast six months. This break in such activities is more than sufficient for the shrimp population to return to its original levels thereby maintaining a balance in their numbers.

Therefore, we can safely state that unless the flaws pointed out within the argument are rebutted completely, so that not even a sliver of doubt can remain, the argument is clearly not valid.