The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The issue at hand states that instilling a sense of cooperation instead of competition into the youth of a society will prepare them for leadership roles. I mostly agree with the claim but it has to be understood that this issue is not completely black or white, but it is somewhere in between in the shades of grey.

In the real world, it is necessary for a person to interact with people coming from different backgrounds, having different ideologies and different opinions. Therefore, it is very important that a person should be able to work in such a diverse arena without hindering the progress of the institiution. This means that the person should be able to cooperate with other people. This allows for a vibrant democracy to be established in the organization where everyone can feel important because it can be practically observed that implementation of different ideas is done through intellectual discourse with various individuals rather than a theocratic decision making system. Heightened competition can often feel like a rat race, or like survival of the fittest, which is not healthy for the society. A society thrives when a leader takes into account the problems being faced by the society by interacting with them, trying to build bridges between communities at odds through dialog, etc. For example, let us look at the case of the USA and Russia. Both the countries have been the biggest superpowers of the 21st century, always having competed with each other with an aim to one up the other. But the cooperation exhibited by both the nations in the field of space exploration since the early 1990's has catapulted the entire human race to new heights.

But a counter argument can also be made that being competition builds the character of a person. This can be witnesed everyday in the field of sports. For example, in soccer, Messi and Ronaldo have dominated the sport for over a decade constantly pushing each other to do better and both of them are seen as leaders for whichever team they play. Competition is a necessary aspect for a person to develop mental fortitude which is essential for a leader. Healthy competition can be beneficial i.e. when the competitors themselves have respect for each other instead of a mutual hatred.

Therefore, it is my opinion that competition is an important factor for a person to develop leadership charecteristics, but it is absolutely essential for a person to be able to learn to cooperate with other people to become a respected and reknowned leader.