According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument assumes that an increase in budget for advertising will increase the number of viewers of movies produced by Super Screen Movie Production Company. The argument has several glaring holes in its reasoning which need to be addressed before such a decision is made.

The advertising director states that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about 'specific' Super Screen movies have increased. It hasn't been made clear as to how many movies were released by the company in the past few years and how many of the said movies have received positive reviews. It has just been told that the percentage of positive reviews have gone up for specific movies, which means that the number of positive reviews with respect to the number of negative reviews have grown and that too only for specific movies, not all of them. Therefore, it can't be assumed that all the movies or even a majority of them have got positive reviews. If that is the case, it will make more sense for the company to increase the budget of some other department like direction, writing, costume or location setting, in order to produce a higher quality film which the audience can enjoy better.

Another flaw in the argument is that, there is no indication as to the type of the movies being released by the company. Maybe the topics on which the movies are based do not resound with the interest of the people, even though it might be technically brilliat which might have the reviewers raving. For example, the company might have produced movies predominently belonging to the horror genre and the number of people truly interested to watch horror movies might be significantly lesser than people who prefer to watch romantic or comedy movies. Proper research needs to be done on the demographics of the viewers to understand which type of movie will attract more viewers.

The final issue which needs to be addressed before a conclusion can be drawn from the argument is that it assumes that the tastes of the reviewers and the wider audience is the same. This reasoning is fundamentally flawed because a few people can't represent an entire spectrum of viewers. It can be argued that most of the viewers don't hold much stock in the reviews published about the movie as they usually share an opinion that most reviewers are venal and are chums with production houses, which pay them vast amounts of money to write glowing reviews and recommendations. In fact most viewers depend on word of mouth reviews spread by common folks.

Hence, we can clearly see that there are several other factors which might have lead to a reduced number of viewers than what was predicted by the marketing department. These issues need to be properly looked into to see whether the conclusion drawn from the argument will still hold good or not.