People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

In professional circles, it is kind of taboo to base your decisions on your emotions. People who take such decisions are deemed as impulsive and capricious, henceforth not to be trusted with crucial work. The author of the issue is in a quandary whether such people are poor decision makers or not.

It is true that decisions taken on the basis of logic and hard core facts seldom fail. Before taking any decision, the impact of that decision should be properly analyzed. This can be done in various ways such as brain storming, lateral thinking methods, analyzing trends etc. Some of the most successful people in our world are renknowned for their ability to separate their emotions from their decision making. People like Steve Jobs and Mark Zuckerberg spring immediately to the mind when thinking of such people. Both of their stories are quite similar when we consider that they set aside their personal relationships completely with family and friends when it came to making sure that their companies succeeded. We can also see examples throughout history where controlling the personal emotions was a paramount part of some cultures. The shaolin monks from Tibet, the samurais from Japan and the sages from India all practiced this way of life. In some cases, decisions based on gut feelings bring huge success. These decisions are in fact based on emotions which engender a false sense of confidence in the person which is quite dangerous.

It can also be argued that some issues require a person to have an emotional connection. For example, during a war between two countries, there would be a greater effort to ensure peace and tranquility between the countries if lives of people we know are being endangered. Otherwise, there will be little empathy towards either country.

Therefore, I can clearly state that even though decisions based on emotions can be successful in some cases, they shouldn't be relied upon too much. Judgements should be made logically after considering all the factors and implications of the the results.