People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

One may be inclined to believe that the given argument is veracious on the face of it. It is a general notion that emotion is subjective, ephemeral and varies situationally. Therefore, it might not be a good idea to rely on emotions at all. Logic on the other hand pervades universally and is often objective and everyone can accept it. An "excellent" decision maker may be inclined towards relying on facts, figures and statistics.

THe logic is deeply flawed. On the other hand, it is important to note that one cannot take out emotion from how humans process things in general. Humans just can not be expected to be completely free from emotions. It is impractical to dream of a decision that based on a purely logical argument that hasn't been diluted with emotion. Subjectivity and emotions are what set humans apart. One works the best if their choice aligns well with what they are emotionally passionate about even if it defies logic. Most successful people in the world were often classified as completely nuts as their decisions, which were fuelled by their emotions, defied commonly accepted ideas of logic and reason. However, their ideas resulted in disrupting the world in unimaginable but often fruitful ways.

Logic, too, is not as objective as it is projected to be. Ideals vary from culture to culture and decade to decade. The lens with which one views the world is ever-changing and evolving and the accepted ideas of logic follow the same suit with it. Even relying on facts, figures and statistics maybe a wrong call if they are not used judiciously. Mark Twain once famously said, "There are lies, damned lies and statistics." Blindly following statistics may land one up in a bad situation often times. These should always be taken with a pinch of salt after thoroughly checking if they are representative enough of the situation one wants to apply them to.

Lastly, it is important to stress on the fact that decisions at their facevalue are usually neither good or bad. Their entirety is determined by what follows. This post processing of events that followed is used to justify or refute arguments that were given before the decision was taken. Deeming people as poor decision makers is a very blunt remark and the generalization is not a wise move. Things could've gone bad or well in either case as we will never find out how it would've been if we had taken "The Road not Taken" just like Robert Frost never did.