Manned space flights should not be invested in.

The opinion presented here falls short of providing enough evidence for arriving at such strong conclusions made by the author. The following arguments should be considered and weighed for a proper and justified analysis.

For starters, the letter to the editor does not mention anything about the nature of the manned and unmanned missions. The manned missions and thre recent successful unmanned ones could have been for completely different purposes altogether. It is imprudent to judge them against each other and then claim that one comes out as the vanquishing economic winner over the other. The opinion presented would be stronger and more reliable if it were comparing a mission that had similar technological objectives.

The veracity in the claims also falter at the point that there are certain space missions that might require a human intervention necessarily. It is true that better robotic arms and rovers can beat a human's data collection abilities in space exploration missions but what if the mission aims to study about the human body in space among other things? Unmanned missions can not completely replace manned missions in today's context in which space agencies around the world are obsessed with finding out more about the human space flight in a long term goal to colonize the Moon or Mars. These missions are essential and it is not suprising that space agencies that are not even financially well backed, like India's ISRO, are also be seen to be following suit and are investing a huge amount of money in manned missions despite their constricted resources.

The argument also heavily relies on the fact that all unmanned missions are cheaper than manned ones. It is possible that there are some missions in whichreplacing a human in the mission would be much more expensive for the space agency along with overtones of heightened chances of failure. Evaluating this aspect is also important in gauging the presented opinion in a more informed and critical manner.

The argument does not expound well on the risks associated with manned spaceflights. Risks reduce further after every successful manned flight as the spacecraft advances on the "Technology Readiness Level" ladder. These reduced risks in newer missions should also be taken into consideration without jumping to conclusions. It is possible that development of new unmanned teachnology also faces significant amount of risk to human life during the developemnt period. However, we may discount this if enough evidence is presented that underscores the risk associated with these missions.

If the opinion is backed with evidence on the aforementioned points, the letter's conclusion would hold value.