Before pouncing on the suggested move, it is important to scrutinize what has been presented here. A thorough analysis of certain points will help the Production Company in taking an informed decision about the next fortiuous strategy.

The memo assumes that viewership only relies on the number of people attending their shows physically at the screening. With the advent of on-demand streaming platforms, a lot of people prefer streaming the movies on their laptops than actually going to the screening. Therefore, it is not justified to assume that the paucity in the number of people attending implies that fewer people are watching the movie especially if there exist other media to watch the same movies.

Moreover, the memo does not provide any insight into how many people are actually reviewing the movie. It is important that the people who review the movie are representative of the general viewership if this has to be considered in the evaluation of the argument. Additionally, the set of people whose reviews are being compared with the reviews from before should be similar for the comparison to be fair and have any value. Reviews by apples should not be compared with reviews given by bananas.

It is also crucial to consider if there have been certain other changes in the customer's experience that has led them to feel pleasant about their experience in general. Such false sense of content can stem from improved seting, film quality or better sound. These changes can result in a better overall experience leading the custmer to feel more satisfied with the movie and the subsequent increase in the positive reviews. The reviews may not be reflective of the quality of content of the movies being screened; the company may be incorrect in assuming that the good quality of movie is what is driving up the increase in good reviews.

Another essential question that would need to be answered is about the demography of the people attedning then and now. The memo does not imply anywhere that similar kind of people are attending the movies now as before. To elucidiate with an example: it is possible that that the kind of movies screened during the past year appealed more to a younger audience who appreciate it and give better reviews; on the other hand, the movies completely alienate the older people in the area who have different consumption patterns and dislike the kind of movies that are being screened so they skip going to the screenig altogether. Advertising in this case will not help if the movies are restricted to a certain segement of the viewership.

Gaining clarity on these aspects of the argument will help the company in ascertaining that their move of allocating a bigger budget pie to advertising can actually result the fruits as has been envisioned.