Television station moved towards more national news instead of local. After receiving complaints, they want to revert.

There are various things that should be known about the problem before we are able to comment on the issue.

It is not known whether the television station is aired locally or nationally. Most regional stations also air nationally. It is possible that this move has resulted in an increase in the viewership for the station as a whole on a national level. This move might have possibly resulted in a better general viewership with more non-local people watching the station.

Additionally, before arriving at decisions from the complaints, it is important to assess the data from the complaints in a correct manner. Factors like the amount of complaints received, for instance, should be essential in the consideration. If the complaints are coming in only from a tiny chunk of people, then they are not representative of the public's general opinion at all. Moreover, there is a possibility that these complaints are from a few regular viewers but the increase in time devoted for national news has drawn in a larger number of other viewers who are not complaining.

It may also be useful to look at other competitors in the local news segement and whether this move of changing the time distribution was taken by others too. If other stations also did something similar, their experience with it might be reveal more things, for example, if this change is unwelcome in general or are there other factors that come into play. Studying their viewership patterns will be quite insightful.

Another thing is adaptability - it is possible that perturbed viewers will spring back to normalcy in some time. They may not be fine with this sudden change in the pattern in which news is delivered to them, however, given some time, there is a possibility that they will adapt to this and might even start finding this better. From the given memorandum, it is not clear whether their experimentation with change in time was recent or not.

A good way to analyze this issue would be bifurcating the viewership audience into locals and non-locals. The factors will be different in the assessment of different people in the demography. Considering and weighing these two broad but representative buckets independently will help in striking the perfect balance of the division of time.