There are a lot of things one needs to know in order to evaluate the efficacy this move by the government. To begin with the basics, it is important to know just how high is the Vitamin A content in this new breed of millet and if it is actually effective in curbing the problem of deficiency. Moreover, it is also important to find out how many people are deficient in Vitamin A and whether this move for curbing deficiency is, in fact, that pressing. Additionally, information of millet consumption by the people divided into buckets gender-wise and economic status-wise will be helpful in the analysis to triangulate in onto the group where this move can cause the most impact. If this identified group does not intersect with the group that is deficient in Vitamin A, then, this exercise is not beneficial at all.

Another important aspect of this argument is the effect on the farmer and agricultural activities in the nation. Important information on the effects of cultivation this crop on the soil health and labour requirement is important. Long term deterioration of other resources due to this move will result in problems for the people associated with agriculture. This is important in evaluating whether the subsidy incentive is enough for the farmers to start cultivating this crop. On the other hand, it is equally important to know if the subsidy incentive is so high that this consumes a large part of the agricultural sector due to its profitability such that cultivation of other crops is hit severely.

It is also important to consider where is the fund for the subsidy rolling in. It is possible that funds from other more vital government activities are cut by this move. This deficiency issue should be weighed in importance against other government activities that may be hit because of this.

Even if we consider that everything goes well, we are still remained with the issue of the adoption of this millet variety by the common person. It is pressing to find out if this variety of millet varies significantly from the popular one in price, taste and availability. If people are not willing to adopt this new variety at all then all efforts are futile. Another consideration for adoption is knowing whether nutritional value of the standard variety is preserved in the new breed in addition to more Vitamin A.

Knowing these will help the government make an informed call on the move that has been suggested.