Some tasks are for men only.

It is true that we, in any way, cannot ignore the physical differences in men and women which start becoming conspicuous after the onset of puberty. It is how the species is, and this part cannot be overlooked if we need to build a logical case for the argument. There is no denying that most men have more physical strength than most women. Gender roles emerged in the stone age have stayed rooted into the humankind manifesting in the form of patriarchy because of the kind of work that had been contributing to the economy of the country for a very long time. Jobs is previous eras have required physical stength. These differences, however, cease to create a divide in a modern worldview.

A lot has changed today. We live in the information age now and machines have taken over and humans have readied themselves for the welcome of "Industry 4.0" and even more digitization. With countries around the world engaging in the relentless pursuit of automation today, in the current context and job market, such physical differences stop standing in the way. It is known for a fact that both the genders are at par with each other in terms of cognitive abilities if they receive the same external conditioning. Psychologists, doctors and sociologists have been trying to prove and highlight this for a very long time now.

As machines and machine learning perpetuate to take over the world, the only asset that remains with humans are skills that are inherently human: creativity and negotiation. It will take a long time for machines to replace these valuable skills. Displaying skills like these has no correlation with gender whatsoever and previous ideas of gender roles become obsolete which were based on physical differences only.

It is safe to argue that after havong received similar education - no gender is more qualified than the other for tasks in a modern setting. Some tasks which still require physical strength are undeniably suited to a particular gender more than the other in most cases. But, as these tasks dwindle in number in the next decade as the world moves towards technological progress, this gender gap is bound to close.

Today, we have seen women take up leadership roles in all verticals of professional life: politics, engineering, arts, medicine, etc. This strengthens my argument that given the same opportunities, women unquestionably hold the ability to come out better than their male counterparts in various tasks. It is important that the world, especially developing countries, tap into this resource that is inside the women of their population if they wish to achieve the economic growth they dream of elusively. An equal opportunity and level playing field that does not overburden women with household responsibilities can play a key role is realising the vistas of unending economic prosperity and development.