A nation should require its students to study the same national curriculum until college.

A uniform curriculum might sound tempting at first as there are seemingly obvious benefits that can perhaps be linked to it. Some of them maybe that if everyone has had the same curiculum and taught the same things in school then noone is advantaged or disadvantaged by the curriculum when it comes to college applications or even grasping new concepts once college begins. It might become easier for college professors to design their courses this way and might even streamline the freshman year in college altogether.

However, before we are convinced by this illusion, we might want to look into some other arguments. Freedom in curriculum has helped in preserving local ideas for a long time. Reasoning and logic varies geographically in a country. These ideas are well represented only in local curriculums. Painting it with national common ideas might not be appropriate at all. A uniform curriculum might suppress certain ideologies or schools of thought.

Different curriculums help in creating a diversity in thought in the entire population. Students are taught different ways to approach the same problems. When these students come together and collaborate later in life, this difference in tackling problems is what engenders intellectual debate which results in newer ideas and more inclusive solutions. This is the true power of the youth. To give rise to the generation of next global thinkers, we need to guard the diversity in thought.

Moreover, if freedom of curriculum is snatched away from the schools, the teachers might also inevitably lose interest in what they are teaching. A fixed national curriculum might take out any scope of creative instruction and might render teaching repetitive and boring. It will create a wave of mindless parrotting and will result in no real benefits.

Additionally, imposing a national curriculum will also take out any scope for specialized and adaptive curriculums that are required by certain students. Such curriculums help students learn at their own pace - accelerated or slowed down. The idea behind everyone receiving the same kind of school education is flawed considering students have different needs.

Thus, Some extent of uniformity is required in the curriculum in a country but complete uniformity will do more bad than good.