A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until college.

It is important for school curricula to represent the aspirations of a student. Using a standardized curriculum for all students is akin to pigeonholing and can have deleterious consequences on the personal and professional growth of a student.

The large-scale resistance to standardized testing in large countries is well-documented. In a standardized test, a set of uniform yardsticks are used to assess the academic and intellectual faculties of a candidate, without taking into account one's congenital and acquired predispositions to a subject. For instance, a student who wishes to study liberal arts is forced to take advanced placement classes for calculus and trigonometry at the high school level to achieve a good score on the SAT's.

The reasons for my objection are twofold. Firstly, a uniform syllabus does not adequately represent the talents and idiosyncrasies of school going children. Bucketing people into a single assessment criterion leads to academic muzzling, which could greatly impinge a nation's volume and intensity of talent. When students with a creative predilection are pushed to study increasingly analytical subjects such as science and mathematics, it leads to an unrequited drop in enrollment and performance. In addition, a below-par performance also reflects poorly on the school's image.

Secondly, one has to take into account cultural predilections towards choosing high-school subjects. Sociological and statistical studies have shown us that certain communities are more likely to take up STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Management) courses and certain others take up vocational training courses post middle school. Having a homogenized curriculum curtails their freedom of choice and expression.

In continuing with my previous argument, one should also note that certain courses require sophisticated textbook, equipment and supplementary tutoring. Disadvantaged sections of the society might not be able to cope up with this additional financial burden. In a lachrymose example, minority students belonging to a public school in Arkansas were forced to withdraw from advanced placement classes when they were unable to purchase laptop computers for a programming course. Impelling marginalized communities to punch above their weight to buy school supplies is a tenuous proposition.

One should also understand that the American high-school system suffers from multiple issues. School teachers are overworked and underpaid. When a rapid foundational change in syllabi or curricula is enforced, it destabilizes an already emaciated system.

The school curriculum should also aid a student's transition from high school to university education. Typically, students are free to choose their major disciplines and auxiliary subjects in an university. To make a prudent career choice, a student should be aware of what his/her strengths and weaknesses are. If the student were to study a uniform national curriculum at school, he would not be in a position to make an informed decision regarding his career at the collegiate level.

Finally, a country prides itself on its diversity. As we traverse these great lands, we see a broad spectrum of economic, cultural and social attributes. It is only natural for us to assume that their educational requirements and cognitive requirements are similarly catholic. In my opinion, an educational policy maker in Washington DC will not be able to effectively capture the aspirations of a student in New Mexico or Alaska. The choice of school curriculum should therefore be left to respective state boards of education and the students. A nationalized curriculum be deeply counterproductive to our long-term objectives with regard to enrollment and performance.