The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director in his memo claims that the viewership of Super Screen-produced movies has dwindled over the past year. In order to buoy their business interests, he intends to allocate a greater share of the company's budget to advertising and promotions. The argument suffer from multiple logical inconsistencies and is seemingly based on a report whose contents appear largely circumspect.

The fallacies in the advertising director's argument are twofold. Firstly, the director claims that fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies in the preceding year than any other year. However, he fails to indicate whether this downward spiral has been a consistent trend or an isolated occurrence. If it were a one-off observation, then it is more likely to have been caused by a specific policy decision taken that year. On the other hand, a uniformly low attendance over a longer period of indicates a serious dip in quality. In order to confirm the veracity of this observation, the number of people watching our movies more than once needs to be quantified. With that information, it will be possible for us to identify our key consumer demographic and address their concerns specifically.

Secondly, the memo claims that specific movies produced by the company have received positive reviews from movie critics. The report however, does not go into the details of the number and genre of movies that have attracted audience approbation. In addition, the size and characteristics of the survey sample have not been indicated. Since different people consume entertainment differently, such variations are to be accepted. One should therefore exercise restraint when dealing with reports of this kind as they are susceptible to overestimation or statistical bias. The advertising director should ascertain whether all movies produced by the company have garnered accolades from critics. If there is an unequal distribution in acceptance, then it is an indictment of the content and not the promotion of the movies. The nature and expertise of these reviewers should also be considered before making an impulsive decision. A critic belonging to a renowned publishing house influences a larger section of people. Sweeping claims about the inadequate promotion of the movies should therefore be avoided.

Furthermore, the memo's conclusive statement appears to be short-sighted and facile. A problem such as poor viewership or consumption needs to addressed at multiple levels. If indeed there are certain movies which are generating positive responses from the audience, then the production of such movies needs to be prioritized by the company. Repeat screening of these movies should be encouraged. An overarching approach to advertising can often have deleterious consequences. Care should be taken by advertisers to ensure that only good movies receive a lion's share of promotional resources and expenditure.

In the absence of robust and actionable data on viewership, it is imprudent to allow such knee-jerk decisions. The problem needs to be analyzed further and contentious issues need to be summarily identified. It is therefore unwise for us to go on a limb and bolster our advertising expenditure.