An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The decision of an international development organization to promote the use of genetically modified millet varieties to address Vitamin-A deficiencies in the citizens of Tagus is short-sighted and deleterious. This decision has been based on a concerted misinformation campaign by profiteering geneticists and self-interest groups.

The argument suffers from several logical inconsistencies. Firstly, the use of genetically enriched crops as therapeutic substitutes needs to be validated by sound scientific research. Without adequate data, claims that engineered millet crops can act as salubrious reservoirs of Vitamin-A can only be considered speculative.

Furthermore, many genetically modified crops have extremely high temperature and atmospheric sensitivity. Tagus is a tropical country with prolonged summers and an extremely short rainfall season. To ensure that these crops can indeed be used to alleviate the nutritional concerns of Tagus, studies need to be performed to show that the crop can be harvested in large amounts. The new crop should also not impinge on the prevalent agricultural calendar of the land. The model that the organization wishes to enforce in Tagus should be one that can be internationally duplicated.

It is clearly stated in the argument that Tagus is an impoverished nation. In order to cultivate this crop, farmers need to buy sophisticated agricultural equipment, additional feed stock and manure. The costs of these have not been factored into the organization's calculations. Although subsidies can cover seed costs, there is no data to show that costs of procuring machinery and infrastructure will be incentivized by the government. In addition, the quantum of promotional expenditure has also been redacted from the argument. When one considers all of these factors, it is amply clear that the cultivation of this millet is economically untenable.

Perhaps the most rationally flawed argument of the organization is that the people of Tagus will seamlessly adopt this new millet variety. Studies have shown that people are more likely to develop negative genetic predispositions to biologically modified plants and legumes. At times, the introduction of these crops can have detrimental consequences on the health of an individual. Some might develop allergic reactions to a crop that is alien to a particular climatic environment. In order to strengthen the organization's argument, the genetic acceptance and allied health risks of the new millet variety need to be studied, collated and quantified. The residents of Tagus should not be considered as guinea pigs for a research project.

Finally, when one intends to address localized health concerns, one should always look for indigenous solutions. Instead of seeking genetically enriched Vitamin-A sources, the government should promote the consumption of locally available fruits and vegetables that are naturally rich in Vitamin-A. Having indigenous solutions not only allays economic concerns, but also physiological constraints.

It is therefore pellucid that the argument does not completely and factually address public concerns regarding the new millet variety. In the absence of actionable evidence and scientific data, it will not be prudent for the government to accede to the demands of the organization and proceed with an impractical policy decision.