The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The importance of verbal commendations in the professional growth of a student or employee is well documented. However, it is unwise to follow a teaching style that eschews criticism altogether and relies solely on platitudinous compliments. It is important for a teacher to identify problem areas in a student and offer points of constructive criticism so that these issues can be effectively addressed.

The adage "You can catch more flies with honey than vinegar" is not relevant in a modern classroom setting. The American school system is built on the foundations of competition and triumph. To survive in a belligerent urban setting, it is necessary for teachers to optimize the learning process. This will only happen if demerits of students are pointed out. From a psychological perspective, it is known that a feeling of incompetence is a major catalyst for personal growth. Sedulous individuals recognize their limitations and then work towards alleviating them in an ebullient, unrestrained manner.

Firstly, choosing to ignore one's malfeasance comes at a price. In certain situations, it might be economically or strategically prudent to highlight one's wrongdoings. For instance, in a military operation, a general might expect unflinching obedience from his troops. If a soldier were to derelict his duty, it would endanger the whole operation. Under such circumstances , it is essential for the authority-figure to criticize the soldier's action. Failing to do so would send an erroneous impression to his compeers. A feeling that one is beyond reprimand is conceivably the greatest obstacle to personal growth.

Perhaps the most logical argument for criticism from a higher-up is the elimination of complacency. A student who receives only positive feedback from his tutors is more likely to indulge in self-approbation. This primarily serves as an ego boost for the student and the ensuing torpor is more likely to negatively impact one's intellectual pursuits. There is a difference between genuine criticism and nitpicking. A teacher should be able to exercise restraint and moderation while engaging in criticism.

Furthermore, parents and peers have a major role in shaping the cognitive avenues of an individual. Parents who refrain from gainsay are more likely to cloud the judgment of their children. When parents display an unwillingness to acknowledge their children's shortcomings, they offer a tacit approval for his/her misdeeds. This could lead to the proliferation of anti-social tendencies. At some point, one should understand that brickbats and condemnations are tools that can be used for corrective purposes.

Sometimes, a student might be completely unaware of his weaknesses. In such a situation, the role of a teacher becomes all the more indispensable. History has shown us that great teachers have always been miserly with praise and surfeit with criticism. Teachers who engage constantly in fault-finding are often painted in a despotic and tyrannical light. But it is these teachers who impel their students to pursue excellence.

In addition, the coddling of pupils greatly alienates them from the real world. For example, an interviewer might be extremely persnickety when it comes to a potential candidate's flaws. A student who has never been exposed to criticism might find this experience unsettling. This may lead to serious psychological consequences. Crafting a market-ready individual is a lot like putting a fish into a bowl. A student should always be acclimatized to his surroundings, however predatory they may be.

It is therefore amply clear that disapproval from a higher-up is far more likely enhance the quality of one's work, provided it is germane and logically sound. Failing to censure one's faux pas can have deleterious consequences, particularly in an academic setting.