The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum claims that the increased time-share devoted to national issues on late-night news programming has led to multiple complaints from local viewers and a drop in local sponsorship. As a solution, the manager offers to reinstate the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The claims are however deeply flawed and based on misinformation and misplaced compulsions.

The inconsistencies in the manager's argument are twofold. Firstly, it is not necessary for a late-night news broadcast to devote a lion's share of its time to local news. Since there are quarterly news bursts throughout the day dedicated exclusively to local news, the late-night slot can be used to cover issues of national importance. The manager should also note that the network has an allied weather channel and a radio station which puts out hourly updates on local weather and traffic conditions. With the advent of mobile phones and internet communication, weather conditions can be monitored instantaneously. Mobile applications like Google Maps and AccuWeather can be programmed to deliver minute-by-minute updates on temperature, humidity and rainfall. This eases the burden on late-night news programs.

Secondly, most of the people in local towns do not have 24x7 access to national broadcasters such as CNN and FOX. In such a situation, the onus is on local news channels to present national and global news. As far as viewership is concerned, local estimates have shown that the number of young people tuning into our late-night broadcast has increased rapidly over the last year. This should be construed as a sign of affirmation for our content. Post our policy shift, our consumer base has been growing steadily at an enviable rate.

Perhaps the most flawed argument in the memorandum is the one concerning advertising contracts. Although it is true that local companies have threatened to withdraw from our late-night programs, we have managed to rake in some quality national sponsors due to our concerted portrayal of nationally relevant issues. Large corporations such as Intel, Nissan and Mazda have now started sponsoring our late-night broadcast. It should also be noted that the quantum of their sponsorship has gone up significantly over the past six months. This has led to a permanent attenuation of our financial constraints.

With a major national election afoot, it would be suicidal for us to abandon our successful format. There is an overwhelming need to keep people informed about major federal policy decisions. Given the popularity of our late-night news anchors and correspondents, it would be prudent for us to devote a major share of air time to covering national politics. There is also a threat of other local networks using this opportunity to spruce up their news content. Such a move would deeply hamper our business and viewership. As long as we are able to keep our core viewership base intact, such belligerents can be easily vanquished.

Therefore, it is amply clear that our decision to use late-night programming to cover national news has proven greatly beneficial to the overall morale of our company and its employees. Regressing to our previous format would not be advisable at this juncture.