The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement about reduction in advertisment and its relation to the weather news looks wise and reasonable at the first glance but if we deleve deeper in details of provided information we could fine rife of holes and assumptions. Whereas they may have some other information that could support this satement, due to the facts that presented, concluding from some complaiments that the weather news could be the reason of decline in advertisement is not reliable which I will explain now.

The first assumption of the statemnets is that due to the facts that the weather news has declined during the last year and there are some complaints about so viewers are not satisfaying with this trend. The writer does not provide any details about the number and frequency of them. It is possible that a few people complaint for several times or generally the number of complaints may be much less that all of the viwers. Another possibility is that satisfied people may not call to acknowledge this change or even they call, there is not any evidence for advocates of this trend. To strenghthen the statement, the author could provide any additional details which shows statistical number for complaints and also refelect the advocates ideas.

Reduction in advertisements may have different reasons but the author does not mention any of them or could not present any discussion about othe rpossibilities. for example, the companies may found another method for advertising which is more economical or effective than the previous type. Also, it is possible that another television suggest some discount for companies to attract them. to support the statement, the writer could hold a survey from differnt companies and ask about this change in the trend or if there is any information it should mention in the statemnet.

In conclusion, although the statement provide attaractive idea and provide different reasons for their idea, it fails to support the argument and provide cogent reasons to persuade reader. In order to strenghthen the argument, it is suggested to provide any additional information about reasons that companies have for changing the trend, hold a survey and questionary about viewers and ask their idea about this change in the weather news.